Idling Stop

Idling Stop Does More than Reducing Pollution and Improving Fuel Efficiency

Idling Stop - a familiar function already found in many cars today. However, currently only Honda equips its scooters with this unique and useful function.

With this system, whenever a vehicle comes to a physical stop for a fixed length of time, such as when waiting for a traffic light, its engine automatically shuts off, thereby reducing fuel consumption and emissions of carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide and hydrocarbons during that time to effectively "zero." In other words, Idling Stop is friendly to both the environment and one's pocketbook.

However, Idling Stop offers even greater advantages, which further add to a rider's sense of excitement and exhilaration.

"Idling Stop - It doesn't affect fuel economy and the environment. Let me tell you about the exhilaration you'll feel the instant you give it a try"

One day a while back, I decided to take the PCX150 out for a ride with a passenger onboard. One reason was that I wanted to see how the bigger version of the popular PCX (125cc) would behave. There wasn't any need to travel far. Once I get out on city streets, I quickly get a clear understanding of a bike's feel, including its acceleration, braking and riding comfort. So, I told my wife that I'd be taking her shopping without revealing the real reason for the trip.

Within a few minutes after leaving home, we stopped for a red light, and the scooter's Idling Stop function instantly switched into operation, turning off the engine. And at just that moment, the attention of these two animal lovers latched onto a small dog walking along the sidewalk nearby. We could distinctly hear his nails scratching the pavement as the dog sniffed around and 'greeted' a tree. Then the grass growing around its base made him sneeze. The daily life of this dog was communicated to us in both form and sound. "Isn't he cute? Look at the way he wags his tail!"

After this, a natural stream of conversation continued, making this couple's time together seem all the more worthwhile. However, a new question soon arose: What made our conversation so lively in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the city? I know it's a bad habit of mine, but I really wanted to find an answer to that question, especially since it's part of my job. So, while my wife was doing her shopping, I continued working on analyzing the situation, and abruptly discovered the answer I was looking for. This was all a side-effect of the PCX's Idling Stop!

Idling Stop - Already a popular function in many cars, its effects are a significant reduction in fuel consumption as well as reductions in emissions of carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide and hydrocarbons to virtually zero. This is achieved by automatically stopping the engine when the vehicle stops for longer than a specified period of time, such as for traffic lights or train crossings, etc. To put it in simple terms, Idling Stop is friendly to both the earth and the pocketbook. In fact, many recent car models come equipped with this function. However, at present, only Honda produces scooters with Idling Stop installed.

Honda Idling Stop

About 20 years ago, while travelling in Germany and Switzerland on assignment, I had my first experience with a form of Idling Stop. At traffic lights, it seemed that everybody would simultaneously turn off their engines, and then restart them again when the light turned green. I distinctly recall feeling a sense of admiration for their conscientiousness about the environment, and I also felt as if I was doing something wrong if I didn't follow suit and stop my own engine.

When I asked about this, the person guiding me through the city answered, "This is the general rule of behavior when driving." In this way no exhaust gases are discharged while stopped for a red light, thus reducing both harmful emissions and fuel consumption. I thought this was a good idea and, as I'm one of those people who's easily influenced by something new, I decided to continue turning off my engine even after returning to Japan.

I dutifully stopped the engine at each red light. However, in those days people who physically stopped their cars from idling belonged to a distinct minority in Japan. So of course passengers would be surprised to see me stop the engine, and would ask, "Why do you keep stopping the engine? The amount of gasoline you save is not worth the bother." I replied that on a visit to Europe I was impressed by the efforts people made to stop engine idling, and so I was doing the same. This was really more about saving the air.

My passenger looked at me with a face of total bewilderment. She tried to force a smile so I wouldn't notice her effort to stifle herself from saying what was really on her mind, which was, "You're strange…" After this, as it grew more troublesome trying to explain my reasoning, I began to limit my personal "Idle-Stopping" to only when I was driving alone. However, I continued to try to stop idling whenever I was riding a bike.

In Tokyo, where I'd frequently have to repeat the cycle of stopping and restarting due to heavy traffic, the effort involved in Idling Stop operations soon became difficult. I did my best in the hopes of doing some small good for the environment, but it required a lot of concentration on the timing of my restarts so I wouldn't become an annoyance to other drivers, and that got to be more and more stressful. Therefore, the number of times I stopped my engine's idling gradually decreased, and I eventually gave up altogether. I soon found it very hard to carry on by sheer force of will alone.

Honda Idling Stop

The green 'A' warning light on the instrument panel indicates when Idling Stop is in operation.

Because of this personal experience, I found the Idling Stop function built into the PCX to be really superb. I no longer have to explain it to other people, and the scooter performs the process of protecting the environment and saving fuel automatically. Now, allow me to briefly explain what it is about Honda's Idling Stop feature that I find so excellent.

First, operation is as easy as it can be. The only thing I physically need to do to turn it on is flip a small switch on the handlebar. Everything else is the same as normal. As the temperature of the engine's coolant rises and the engine is determined to be fully warmed up, the Idling Stop function automatically switches into operation whenever the vehicle is stopped and waiting for a signal to change.

The function is designed to automatically start working after a specified time interval (of only a few short seconds) after the bike stops, taking into consideration other cases where the bike might stop temporarily, such as at stop signs, or when making a U-turn after a stop. This exacting time interval is absolutely exquisite.

When the throttle is turned with the right hand, as one normally does when accelerating from a green light, or when the cars ahead start moving, the sensor instantly detects this minute operation and the engine restarts like magic, allowing the bike to quickly begin to move. Any sense of delay has been completely eliminated from the PCX's Idling Stop function, making it totally stress-free.

This engine restart at the very instant the throttle is turned offers one more big feature: It's not accompanied by the usual cranking sound of a starter motor. In fact, the engine seems to restart without any sound at all, which makes it amazingly comfortable to use at every stop. This silent starting was achieved by incorporating an original Honda-developed technology that uses the AC generator (or ACG, which is normally turned by the engine) as the starter motor, thus eliminating the need to turn over the engine via a separate motor and gears, etc. Instead, the engine starts by utilizing the magnetic characteristics of the ACG to rotate the motor with no mechanical parts coming into contact, thus no cranking sound is heard when the engine is started.

Somewhere in the back of every rider's mind rises a quiet prayer that the engine catches whenever the sound of a starter motor is heard. The lack of any such cranking sound liberates one from that anxiety, and makes this the second reason why Honda's Idling Stop restarts are stress free

Honda Idling Stop

The 'IDLING STOP' switch prominently positioned on the right-side handlebar allows the function to be manually turned ON or OFF.

In other words, the Idling Stop function featured in Honda's scooters-which includes the PCX150, Sh mode, and LEAD 125, as well as the PCX-automatically contributes to a cleaner environment without giving any stress to their riders.

Back to the beginning of the story, and our lively conversation, this seemed to be a side-effect of the relative silence brought about by the engine stopping. Even in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the city, this remarkable silence sneaks up on a couple whenever the engine of the bike they're riding stops. That silence made it possible to actually hear a dog's footsteps. If the engine had remained running, we never would have noticed it. With the engine running, riders tend to only pay attention to waiting for the signal to turn green.

Even if some sort of conversation starts with a tap on my shoulder, I tend to only reply "Yes, what?," and then only listen to the voice instead of turning to look behind me. Put simply, the silence brought about by this Idling Stop gradually relaxed both our minds, and allowed the two of us to better share the experience of the world around us with no time lag. Thus, even brief conversations were filled with a new sense of joy and satisfaction. And as the opportunity for conversation increased, our ride changed completely, and began to feel more like being out on a date together.

There were also other unexpected side-effects. For example, whenever the Idling Stop did its job on the streets of Tokyo, I found I could hear the birds singing in the trees, the sound of fallen leaves blowing down the street, or in summer, the whisper of the wind drifting through the branches. Even the chirping of insects made me conscious of the 'nature' that still exists in the city. Momentary relaxation!

Further, since I could hear all the sounds surrounding me, I could sense the presence of people rushing to make it across a pedestrian crossing. This improvement in my hearing ability further made me conscious of the importance of giving proper consideration to driving safety.

Honda Idling Stop

The 'IDLING STOP' switch prominently positioned on the right-side handlebar allows the function to be manually turned ON or OFF.

On the move, while the PCX's exhaust and mechanical noise are sufficiently quiet, and its presence is only felt as vibration, that interval when the engine is stopped not only reduces its environmental impact, it also makes conversation between rider and passenger more lively, while enabling the rider to better to pay attention to surrounding conditions. I can't help but think that discoveries like this help to reveal what a truly great technology this is.

I've heard that quite a few riders of scooters equipped with Idling Stop tend to ride with it switched off. They may be doing this intentionally for fear of running down the battery with frequent restarts, or perhaps be concerned that the restarts will have an annoying delay. However, such concerns have been perfectly laid to rest by this advanced system. I really think that when all the beneficial effects of stopping the engine when not on the move are considered, it would be a real waste not to take advantage of this technology. I want to stress that Idling Stop is not only good for the environment and improving fuel efficiency, it also helps create a pocket of silence that provides other lasting favorable effects.

For those who are still worried about delays in restarting, I recommend you visit a Honda dealership for a test ride. And if you want to experience for yourself the degree of quiet achieved during an engine stop, you can experience a quasi-Idling Stop by simply sitting on one of these scooters in a city showroom. It's much easier than you'd expect to experience this excellent operation and exhilarating feeling.

環保裝置 Idling Stop

環保裝置 Idling Stop不僅僅是減少污染和提高燃油效率

環保裝置 Idling Stop - 當今很多汽車中已經在用的一項熟悉的功能。然而,目前只有本田在它的綿羊車上配備了這項獨特並且有用的功能。

採用這個系統,每當車輛在一段固定的時間內運動停止時,比如在等待交通燈的時候,其引擎自動熄火,從而減少了燃油消耗,並且在那段時間內的二氧化碳、一氧化碳以及碳氫化合物的排放量有效地減小為零。換句話說,環保裝置 Idling Stop對於環境和個人的錢包都很友好。

然而,環保裝置 Idling Stop提供了更大的優勢,進一步增強了駕駛者的激動和興奮的感覺。

“環保裝置 Idling Stop — 並不會影響燃油經濟性和環境。讓我告訴您在嘗試的一瞬間所感受到的愉快”

一天,在我回家後不久,我決定駕著我的本田PCX150電單車出去兜風。其中一個原因是我想看看這款受歡迎的大車型PCX (125cc)到底有著怎樣的表現。當然,沒有必要為此走很遠。在我駕車走過幾條城市街道後,我很快瞭解了這款電單車,包括其加速、掣動和駕駛舒適性。因此,我告訴我妻子,我想載她去購物,但我並沒告訴她其中真正的原因。

在離開家的幾分鐘內,我們遇到了一個紅燈,此時,電單車的環保裝置 Idling Stop功能瞬間啟動,熄滅了引擎。剛好在那一刻,我們兩個動物愛好者的注意力集中在了沿附近人行道走動的小狗身上。我們甚至都能聽到它四處嗅味並“問候”樹時爪子摩擦地面的聲音。周圍的草坪讓它不斷打噴嚏。“有形有聲”地向我們傳達這只小狗的日常生活。“它是不是很可愛?看它搖動尾巴的樣子!”

此後,我們自然地說著話,似乎讓這對夫妻的時間變得更有意義。但是,不久,一個新的問題油然而生:是什麼讓我們的談話在這個喧囂的城市變得這麼活躍呢?我知道,這是我的一個壞習慣,但是,我真得想找到這個問題的答案,特別是它也是我工作的一部分。因此,在我妻子購物時,我繼續思考這個問題,猛然間,我發現了我要尋找的答案。那就是PCX 環保裝置 Idling Stop的旁效應!

環保裝置 Idling Stop——在很多汽車中,早已經是一項普遍的功能了,它能大量減少燃油消耗,同時還能將二氧化碳、一氧化碳和碳氫化合物的排放減少至虛擬零點。在停車超過規定時間段時(例如:遇到長時間的交通信號燈,等火車通過時,等等),車輛能自動熄滅引擎來實現環保裝置 Idling Stop。簡單來講,環保裝置 Idling Stop對我們的地球和錢包都是有益的。事實上,很多最近新出的汽車車型都配備有該項功能。但是,截至目前,只有本田一家製造商生產安裝有怠速停車裝置的電單車。

Honda Idling Stop

大約20年前,在德國和瑞士出差期間,我第一次親身體驗了環保裝置 Idling Stop。在遇到交通信號燈時,好像每個人都會同時關掉引擎,在變成綠燈後,再重新啟動車子。我能清晰地回憶起那種對他們保護環境的欽佩感,同時,我也感覺到,如果我不跟著做,熄滅我的引擎,就像我做錯了什麼一樣。

當我問道這一點時,導遊回答我說“這是基本的駕駛行為守則。”這樣做,在停車等紅燈時,就不會排除廢氣,從而減少有害物的排放和燃油消耗。我認為這是一個不錯的想法,而且,由於我是一個極易受新鮮事物影響的人,因此,我決定,即便在我返回日本後,在遇到信號燈時,我將繼續熄滅我的引擎。

在遇到每個紅燈時,我責任性地熄滅我的引擎。但是,當時,停車怠速在日本是極少數的。當然,乘客看到我熄滅引擎,也覺得很奇怪,都會問“你為什麼會熄滅引擎呢?省那點油都不夠麻煩的。”我回答說,在我去歐洲出差時,那裡的人停車怠速的影響讓我印象深刻,因此,我也就照做了。而這,在我看來,更多的是“挽救”我們的空氣。

我的乘客一臉迷惑地看著我。她試圖擠出一絲笑容,而我並沒有注意到她阻止自己講出心中所想(那就是“你真奇怪……”)時的神態。此後,由於很困難去解釋我的理由,我旨在單獨駕駛時才會“環保裝置 Idling Stop”。但是,在我騎車時,我都會繼續盡力“環保裝置 Idling Stop”。

在東京,由於當地交通擁堵,我頻繁地重複停車和啟動這連個動作,使得環保裝置 Idling Stop操作變得越來越困難。我極力希望多做一些對環境有益的事情,但是,為了不讓其他司機煩惱,它將我大部分注意力集中在了再次發動的時間上,我因此而感覺到越來越大的壓力。因此,我環保裝置 Idling Stop的次數漸漸變少了,到最後,也就放棄了。不久,我發現自己很難通過單獨的意願來繼續這種行為。

Honda Idling Stop

儀錶盤上綠色“A”警告燈表示環保裝置 Idling Stop裝置正在運行。

由於這種個人經歷,我發現將環保裝置 Idling Stop功能整合在PCX上真的是一項非常優秀的設計。我也無需再向他人解釋了,而且,電單車會自動執行保護環境、節省燃油的程式。現在,請允許我簡單地解釋一下我所發現的優秀的本田環保裝置 Idling Stop特徵。

首先,操作極其方便。只需要輕輕碰一下手柄上的小開關便可打開這項功能。其他的事情就像平常的一樣。由於引擎冷卻劑溫度上升,引擎需要完全加熱,在車輛停止,等待信號變綠時,環保裝置 Idling Stop功能會自動啟動。

在車輛熄火後的規定時間間隔(僅僅幾秒的時間)後,該功能可自動啟動車輛,而且,其中考慮了車輛可能短暫停留的其他情形,例如:停車信號,或在停車後,進行U形轉彎。這種嚴格的時間間隔絕對完美!

當用右手開啟油門時,就如同在綠燈加速時或在前方車輛開始移動時通常做的一樣,感測器能迅速偵測到該時間的操作,然後,引擎如同魔術般地再次啟動,從而允許車輛實現快速啟動。PCX的環保裝置 Idling Stop功能完全消除了任何延誤感,從此壓力全無。

在打開油門的瞬間,引擎再次啟動的這種功能,提供了另一個更大的特徵:不會伴有啟動器引擎通常的轉動聲音。事實上,引擎是在無任何聲音的前提下再次啟動的,這樣,在每次停車時,都會讓人感到非常舒服。這種無聲啟動是通過將本田研發的原廠技術(使用引擎通常啟動的交流發電機)整合入啟動器發電機實現的,因此,消除了通過獨立發電機和齒輪等啟動引擎的需求。代替的是,引擎通過利用交流發電機在不需要機械部件接觸的前提下啟動發電機的磁性特徵進行啟動,因此,在引擎啟動時,不會聽到轉動聲。

在每位駕駛人的大腦中在某種程度上浮現的是,在聽到啟動器發電機聲音時,每位元駕駛人都會在大腦中默默祈福,引擎啟動。這種轉動聲音的消除在一定程度上消除了這種憂慮,這就是本田環保裝置 Idling Stop再次啟動讓人無壓力的第二個原因。

Honda Idling Stop

環保裝置 Idling Stop開關醒目地位於右手側手柄上,因此可以手動開啟或關閉該功能。

換句話說,本田電單車(包括PCX150、Sh型號和LEAD125以及PCX)上這種特有的環保裝置 Idling Stop功能自動對我們的潔淨環境做出了貢獻,並且,不會給騎車人帶來任何壓力。

回到故事的開頭,以及我們活躍的對話,這就像是引擎停轉所帶來的相對安靜所產生的旁效應。即便在喧囂的城市,在電單車引擎停轉時,這種優秀的靜音效應都會悄悄地落到一對夫妻身上,這種安靜,甚至都能讓我們真切地聽到小狗的腳步聲。但是,如果引擎一直在轉,那麼,我們將不會注意到它。在引擎轉動時,騎車人只會將注意力集中在等綠燈信號上。

如果某些對話是從妻子輕拍我的肩頭開始的,我只可能回答“啊,你說什麼?”,然後,只會聽到後面有人說話,而不會轉過頭去。簡單地說,這種環保裝置 Idling Stop所帶來的安靜漸漸放鬆了我們的思想,並能使我們夫妻快速且更好地分享我們周圍世界的一幕幕場景。因此,即便簡單的對話,都讓我們有一種滿滿的快樂和滿足感。隨著我們對話次數的增加,我們也有一種完全不同的駕車體驗,開始更多地感覺到,像是兩人在約會一樣。

當然,也有一些其他令人意想不到的旁效應。例如:當環保裝置 Idling Stop在東京街道上啟動時,我發現我能聽到鳥兒在樹叢中嚶嚶歌唱、落葉掃地的聲音,或是在夏天,風吹過枝杈的聲音。甚至,昆蟲的吱吱聲讓我覺得在這座工業化發達的城市仍有“自然”的存在。這是一種多麼難得的短時間的愜意啊!

此外,因為我能聽到我周圍的一切聲音,我能感覺到人們急匆匆穿越人行橫道。這種聽力能力的提高讓我進一步意識到正確考慮駕駛安全的重要性。

Honda Idling Stop

在行使中,PCX的排氣和機械噪音非常小,只是能感到輕微的震動,在引擎熄火的時間內,不僅減少了對環境的影響,而且,還讓駕駛人和乘客之間的對話更加活躍,同時,還能讓騎車人更好地關注周圍的環境。我不禁想到,像這樣的發明將會幫助我們揭示——什麼是一項真正偉大的技術。

我曾經聽過,很多裝有環保裝置 Idling Stop裝置的電單車駕駛員都會在關閉該功能的情況下駕駛。他們可能是故意這樣做的,因為他們可能擔心頻繁的再次啟動會磨損電池,或者,他們擔心再次啟動將會帶來不必要的麻煩。但是,這種先進的系統能完美地消除這種擔心。在我看來,當不在行駛時,如果考慮熄滅引擎的有益效應,如果不利用這種技術,純粹是一種浪費。我想強調的是:環保裝置 Idling Stop不僅僅對環境有益,而且還能提高燃油效率,也能幫助創造一種安靜的氛圍,從而提供其他持久性的有利效應。

對於那些仍然擔心再次啟動延誤的駕駛員,我推薦你去本店經銷商處進行試駕體驗。如果你想親身體驗在引擎熄滅期間所帶來的安靜程度,你可以在一個城市展廳環境內,只是坐在電單車上,體驗一下准環保裝置 Idling Stop的感覺。比你期望體驗這種優秀的操作和愉快的感覺,這更容易實現。