Mirrors

Are you aware of the major differences between mirrors?

"Mirrors? I think they're okay for just seeing what's behind."

This sort of thinking is a big mistake. Riders get many types of information from their mirrors, and all are important.

"All mirrors are pretty much the same, no matter who makes them."

If you believe this, then you're also making a big mistake. Some mirrors are easy to view and some are not, and this can depend on both manufacturer and model.

In this chapter, we'd like to confirm just how particular Honda is about mirror visibility, and come to understand some of the aspects of performance that are not so easily described in catalogs. Aspects of performance that make riding more enjoyable.

As rider and journalist Tsutomu Matsui discovered, "Mirror visibility should also be an important concern when buying a motorcycle."

Just being able to see correctly…

That's where their value lies.

Are you aware of the major differences between mirrors?

The information we get from our mirrors - When riding a motorcycle, this source of information is often just as important as the view ahead.

Like that 'view,' I think that a mirror's usability and range of adjustment also factor in among the many important performance features riders rely on.

Mirrors

Mirrors can be round, square, or other shapes, and mounted in many different ways, from handlebar-mounted types to those attached directly to a fairing or cowl. A wide range of types and styles are also available, but one truth remains: Easy-to-see mirrors make one's riding experience richer and more enjoyable.

Although some aftermarket mirrors might look cool or be designed with an emphasis on styling, mirrors that give an unsatisfactory view of what's behind are more stress-inducing than most people imagine. My feeling, based on many years of riding experience, is that riders should focus more on a mirror's degree of visibility than its physical appearance or how cool it looks.

So, what are the standards for this 'Degree of Visibility'?

Most countries have laws governing the safety aspects of vehicles using public roads. In Japan, for instance, many items related to motorcycle rearview mirrors, including mirror surface area, degree of visibility, adjustment ease, and collision safety, etc. are strictly regulated. Rules, of course, differ from country to country, but any motorcycle sold in an authorized dealership has met all such local legal requirements.

It therefore follows that every new bike from around the world that I've ever encountered complies with these standards. However, as noted earlier, depending on make and model, some mirrors are 'easy-to-see,' and others are not. I think this gives a clear understanding of a manufacturer's basic philosophy.

In this chapter, I've set out to reconfirm this important part of design philosophy.

In the City

Like most people, I use various forms of transportation to move comfortably through the city. In my early teens, I used to ride everywhere by bicycle. As someone who started riding motorcycles at the age of 17, I find the motorcycle's range of mobility and comfort to be its primary sources of enjoyment, and things that I can't compromise on.

Cities are populated by people of many ages who use many means of transport for innumerable reasons. People ride bicycles, drive cars, or walk as well. Cities have always been bustling societies of mixed movement. For this reason among many, good rearward visibility is often just as important as keeping a steady eye on the road ahead.

Even when changing lanes to keep a safe distance from pedestrians, the rearward visibility of the mirrors plays a crucial part in allowing me to instantly make my decision to move.

It's interesting that at first glance mirrors all look pretty much the same. However, the degree of visibility they provide can differ greatly from vehicle to vehicle. What's the situation with, for instance, a scooter made to get around the city, like the Honda PCX with its relaxed riding position? The PCX's mirrors provide an ample visual field, and when on the move their clear visibility is almost completely unaffected by vibration. Critical visual information is there at a glance, from edge to edge across both mirrors, and the images reflected provide a good sense of the distance to following vehicles. I was especially pleased by how easy they were to adjust, and my level of satisfaction with these mirrors was high in all respects.

Mirrors

The PCX also delivers up an impressive degree of luxurious riding comfort for a 125cc class scooter, and seats two easily. I cruised the streets in the vicinity of my home with one of my family riding on back. This precious bit of time together brought smiles to both our faces. Even then, the wide range of clear visibility offered by the PCX's mirrors enabled me to enjoy this comfortable ride with complete peace-of-mind. Also, when carrying passengers, it certainly doesn't hurt to be able to see their faces, and really all mirrors should do this.

The SH Mode is another lively scooter for getting around town, and I could feel my back straighten up whenever I climbed aboard. From this upright posture, I felt like I was looking down a bit toward the mirrors. However my arms never came into reflected view, even when leaning close to the mirrors. Their degree of visibility was exactly what I expected. Just a quick glance was enough to let me see what I needed.

Also, because the mirrors were so close, it only took a slight turn of the head to widen the field of view and keep an eye on traffic conditions behind and around me. The degree of visibility these mirrors offered was crisp and clear, and remarkably good.

Honda has a long, proud history of making slim big-wheeled scooters with upright riding positions, going back to the SH50 first introduced on the streets of Europe in 1993. On other Italian-made models I've ridden, the mirror stays are often long, and while they're easy to see with when stopped, on the move their inherent vibration makes for viewing difficult. However, both the PCX and SH Mode were thankfully free from these problems.

I also tried out the 250cc-class Forza scooter and CRF250L dual-sport bike. The Forza's big scooter mirrors were virtually unaffected by vibration, and I could see no significant difference in distance perception between vehicles approaching from behind and their reflected images in the mirrors.

While checking these points, something occurred to me. While we motorcycle journalists readily note a bike's equipment, storage space and other features when writing our articles, we should really provide more feedback on the quality of the mirrors and their degree of visibility. One reason is that Honda's deep interest in achieving such a high degree of visibility in their mirrors seems extraordinary compared to other manufacturers.

Mirrors

The Touring Scene

When traveling long distances, a motorcycle makes everything you see around you all the more impressive. Although there may stretches of monotonous scenery, there are also times and scenes, like clouds in the sky, that remain vivid deep in your heart.

Besides giving riders an easy way to check rearward visibility, I've come to feel that mirrors also play an important role in touring by functioning as a sort of camera of the heart; helping me capture scenes that I might have missed while focusing on the road ahead, and allowing them to unfold in a profoundly inspiring manner.

In this way, the GL1800 Gold Wing's mirrors are superb. They not only perform the basic job of providing clear and wide-ranging rearward visibility, whatever the speed, but also allow the rider to instantly take in the scenery behind as it fades into the distance. It goes without saying that the Wing's mirrors are superbly made for the purpose of enjoying that rearward scenery. Their size and reflectivity offer just such a sense of spaciousness. In a sense, they stand out as the world's No. 1 touring mirrors.

While planning a bike comparison article like those often run in motorcycle magazines, I had the pleasure of riding the Gold Wing together with several other bikes of the same class. Riding together, it's easy to maintain a comfortable distance between bikes, and also to check to see if all are riding in formation. As I thought, the Gold Wing's mirrors really seem to be designed with various points of view in mind, and their creator's designer philosophy really stands out in these parts.

It was interesting to note how significantly the VFR1200F differs in style from the other bikes we were testing, even though they all qualified as tourers. Compact and stylish, its aerodynamic styling blends in well with its overall design. Yet, its mirrors aren't particularly small in size, at least as viewed from the rider's seat. The mirror surfaces aren't very tall, but are quite wide, so there's no sense of narrowness visible in their field of view. The positioning of the mirrors and their stays are excellent, achieving both cool styling and superb viewing ease; ideal for a bike designed to carry a rider long hours on an expressway leaned forward into the wind.

Mirrors

Whether wearing a thick winter jacket or a more tightly fitting leather jacket, visibility in both mirrors was excellent, and never compromised. I was also happy to find that they're easy to adjust. Speeding down the expressway, these mirrors really shine, providing an easy reading of rearward conditions that's a notable feature.

Among the other riding machines in this class made by other manufacturers, some seemed to be highly susceptible to engine vibration, and their blurred mirrors showed it. I couldn't help wondering why it was that none of the Honda models we tried suffered from this problem. This is a difference from their competition that really can't be seen in a photo, or detected on a showroom floor.

Some time ago I posed this question to one of Honda's development engineers, and he answered, "Honda has strict rules regarding mirror visibility, so I'm sure that our mirrors are a step above those of our rivals." However, this is something never covered in their catalogs, not to mention on the web site. Sometimes I think they ought to mount a pair of mirrors on the new RC213V racer at a MotoGP exhibition in order to demonstrate their visual performance, rather than simply stating, "These mirrors are good."

Sports Bike Mirrors Designed to Overcome a Difficult Problem

Sports bikes are styled to cut cleanly and smoothly through the air with a sensation of speed that mimics the racing machines, so their owners often prefer mirrors that are as small and unobtrusive as possible. I've had plenty of experience riding bikes like this. One I recall was certainly cool to look at, but I had to take my hand off the bars in order to see anything in the mirrors. Another forced me to contort my arms in order to use the mirrors. On bikes like these, even changing arm positions often doesn't improve the limited rearward visibility their mirrors provide, adding considerable unease to every ride.

Mirrors

Riding on winding roads while in the forward crouch common to sports bikes, you feel as though you're part of the machine. While enjoying this feeling of performance, the effort you have to make to see anything in the mirror, or just turn your head around to look, really takes away from that pleasant feeling. Since I'm not the only one using the road, I'm always concerned about who or what is behind me, no matter where I'm riding. Because of this, I feel it's important to be able to have that important information at a glance. Of course, even if the mirrors are easy to see with, if their stays are ugly stumps, I can't really recommend that either.

In this respect, I found the CBR600RR's mirrors to be highly functional, offering a clear view through the twisties of a winding mountain road. The road I was tracing seemed to reverse itself in the mirrors, and the stays, I have to say, were beautifully designed. The adjustment range for these mirrors was also quite wide, and I was able to find the best positioning for whatever riding I was doing in a very short time.

The winding road I took is quite a long ways from home, so I took the roads leading there in touring bike style. In town, at the foot of the mountain pass, I maneuvered through crowded city streets like I was riding a scooter, sharing the road with cars and pedestrians. Cool practicality is of the utmost importance in these situations.

From time to time, certain super sports machines become benchmarks of their class. Clear yardsticks of circuit speed or best operation in a complete package, etc. If mirrors were ever to become a point of comparison with its rivals, I think the CBR's mirrors would obviously be the benchmark. I came to this conclusion while riding a rival machine, when I suddenly felt that the view from its mirrors "just isn't the same."

In Conclusion

In this way, I came to more clearly understand that all Honda mirrors have been carefully developed through meticulous study of user tastes and requirements. Position, adjustment ease, wide rearward visibility and ease of reading traffic conditions - these are the features you turn to whenever you ride a bike you've bought. As distinct from the catalog specifications as other factors you compare before buying, such as handling, engine power characteristics, parts quality, the complete package, etc. I'm sure few people even consider mirror visibility, never mind make it a priority when buying a bike.

Mirrors

I used to be one of those who never based my purchase on the mirrors. However, I now know from experience that the degree of rearward visibility available while riding has a big influence on my overall riding enjoyment. Mirrors that provide excellent viewing ease greatly expand the pleasure of motorcycle riding. How important is mirror visibility? - I verified this again as an experienced rider, and firmly believe it to be vital.

From the results of my investigation, I can strongly recommend Honda's mirrors. And I also recommend that you take the time to evaluate Honda's motorcycles again from the perspective of their rearview mirrors. Doing so is easy. Just visit a dealership and sit on a bike. A dialog about the high performance Honda has to offer will soon begin.

See Next Honda Tech: H.I.S.S.

H.I.S.S.

How Do You Protect The Bike You Love from People Who Would Steal It? One of the things riders hate and fear most is 'theft.'

Next

倒後鏡

差之毫釐, 謬之千里! 你真正了解嗎?

“倒後鏡只要稍稍能看到後面不就可以了!”——這種想法是大錯特錯的。從倒後鏡中所能獲得的信息,對於駕駛者來說是非常豐富且非常重要的。
“所有廠家的倒後鏡不都一個樣嗎?”——如果您這麼想,那也是大錯特錯的。廠家及車型的不同,勢必會有“可視性更好”“不便觀察”等特點。
Honda對於倒後鏡“可視性”的講究,可窺一斑。其中還能了解到產品目錄上未提及的各種性能。這些都是為了一個目的,那就是更愉悅暢快的駕乘感受。
試駕後的記者松井勉也曾感嘆,“倒後鏡的可視性也應該成為影像購買的因素之一。”

從倒後鏡中獲得的信息──在操控電單車時,這跟前方的場景一樣,是信息的主要來源。

對於騎行者來說我認為倒後鏡的調整範圍及方法,跟“視野開闊”一樣,也是非常重要的性能之一。

Mirrors

倒後鏡的形狀有圓形、正方形等。在車身上的安裝方法也多種多樣,有通過支架從手把將倒後鏡樹立起來的,也有將倒後鏡固定在整流罩上的。形狀和款式雖然各式各樣,但是便於觀察的倒後鏡能給騎行者帶來更完美的駕騎體驗。

設計新穎固然好,由於後方視野都要通過一面鏡子來完成,因此壓力似乎非常大。以我長年經驗得出的結論來看,對於倒後鏡來說,跟外觀相比,絕對更應重視“視野開闊”。

那麼,什麼是“視野開闊”的標準呢?

其實,對於在公路行駛的車輛,就倒後鏡是有相關法律規定的。以日本為例,對倒後鏡的面積、“視野開闊”、方便調節以及在調節後不會輕易發生移動、發生碰撞時的安全性等性能都有所規定。雖然不同的國家有不同的規定,但是在門店銷售的電單車一定是滿足這些要求的。

因此,記者所接觸到的世界新車型應該都是符合標準的商品。但是,根據不同的廠家和車型,倒後鏡還是會有“便於觀察”、“難以觀察”的區別,我認為從這些地方也能夠看出廠家基本的設計理念。 為了再次確認其設計理念,我進行了試駕。

大街上

發揮車子的機動性,愜意地穿梭於大街小巷。在我十幾歲的時候,無論去哪兒都用自行車出行。後來,在17歲那年我第一次駕駛了電單車,在我看來,機動性及舒適性是一輛電單車的關鍵所在,也是不可或缺的地方。
大街上,有很多不同年齡的人,他們懷著不同的想法,為了不同的目的而奔波。這些人有的騎自行車,有的開汽車,有的步行。構成了人車混行的街道。正因為如此,後方視野顯得更加重要。是的,當需要和行人間隔一些距離而變換車道時,倒後鏡中的視野對判斷是否需要立即採取行動起到非常重要的作用。

倒後鏡都差不多,但是“視野開闊性”會因不同的車型而不一樣,這點很有趣。比如適合城市街道的輕便綿羊車中,擁有舒適騎乘位置的PCX會有怎樣的表現呢?倒後鏡恰好位於能夠看清整個視野的位置。行駛時震動輕微,視野清晰。騎行者能夠通過兩側的倒後鏡將所需信息盡收眼底,也能很好地把握實際與鏡中所反映物體的距離感。

方便調節這一點令人很高興。在所有的優點中,對倒後鏡尤為滿意。此外,這輛PCX在動力性能方面,比以往的125 cc更具令人難以置信的優勢,同時騎乘兩個人毫無壓力。我帶著家人在我家附近試著行駛了一圈。我們一路談笑風生。 “視野開闊”的倒後鏡在這樣的時刻也能讓我充分放心駕駛。優秀的倒後鏡必須能夠做到,即使後面載人時,乘客的映像也不會影響視野。

在驗證倒後鏡時,突然想起來一件事。我們記者在寫新聞報導時,喜歡介紹相關收納空間、所擁有的功能等方面內容,其實,對這麼好用的倒後鏡也應該進行積極推廣。

Mirrors

在與競爭車型相比較後,發現Honda對倒後鏡“視野開闊”的要求不是一般的精益求精。

CRF250L這樣的Dual Sport裝配的是單缸引擎。有時會感覺到對車身各個部位的震動。踏板、座椅以及油箱等有時也會受到這種震動的影響。

在單缸引擎並且手柄位置較高的車型中,其手把握柄或者倒後鏡等前端部位容易受震動的影響,如果從刁難的角度出發,用這樣的車型來確認倒後鏡的“視野開闊”性能是再好不過了。

CRF250L的倒後鏡雖然易受震動影響,但是從“便於觀察”這個角度來看,是沒有影響的。即使在單側3車道的馬路上行駛,也能夠完全捕捉到斜後方的情況。有人甚至在換了其他車型後,在很長一段時間內還是沿用原款倒後鏡。關於設計,雖然這是個人喜好問題,但是我想還是根據時代的潮流對倒後鏡進行更新換代才能更受歡迎。

為了達到“便於觀察”的效果,不僅眼睛,還經常需要轉動頭頸才能從倒後鏡中獲取希望看到的後方車況。轉動身體並非為了看的更清楚,而是因為如果不轉動就很難看到,因此跟那種瞬間即可獲取信息、在零點幾秒的時間內就能發揮性能的倒後鏡相比,還有一些差距。但即使這樣,CRF250L的倒後鏡還是可以算作是一款性能相當高的倒後鏡了。

在剛開始駕駛電單車的17歲,我認為要把電單車的倒後鏡換成自己喜歡的款式。我自以為是地認為這是按自己喜好改裝的第一步,並沒有多重視“便於觀察”這樣的問題。可以說,我忽略了倒後鏡最基本的功能──“便於觀察”。

但是,在長年的駕駛生涯中,我學到了在道路行駛時,應該重點觀察前方​​,除此之外,自己還要能夠在前後左右這很大的空間中找到路況好、並且能讓自己安全行駛的地方。
這麼一來,僅僅樣子好看是遠遠不夠的。能夠在一瞬間得到便於分析的信息,這才是賦予倒後鏡的重大使命。因此,我認為對倒後鏡需要精益求精。怎樣才能做到“便於觀察”、“視野開闊”?騎行者應該對差別有最直觀的感受。這是我的經驗之談。

Mirrors

旅行途中

駕駛電單車遠行時見到的所有風景中,總會有某些地方給我留下深刻的印象。其中有單一的景色,也有那個時段、天空中的雲朵等,這一瞬的風景深深地留在我的腦海裡。

旅行途中,倒後鏡除了發揮作為確認後方情況工具的效用外,還承擔著“心靈的照相機”的作用,將觀察前方時未曾留意的那些景色留在我們的腦海裡。

作為旅行車型,運動旅行電單車VFR1200F的倒後鏡則呈現出不同的格調,這點很有趣。緊湊、時尚、空氣阻力小的倒後鏡與整體設計相當匹配​​。同時,從騎行者的角度來看,倒後鏡的視野一點也不小。鏡面上下不厚,並且中間相當寬,視野一點也不感到促狹。倒後鏡支架的長度與倒後鏡的位置絕配,兼備炫酷的造型和寬闊的視野。上身前傾的風格對於長時間在高速公路上行駛的電單車來說,是個很好的選擇。

Mirrors

即使穿上冬天的厚​​夾克,或是換上合身的皮夾克,其視野完全不受影響。倒後鏡調節很方便,這一點也讓我很高興。高速公路上能夠讓使用者感覺得心應手,這也是該倒後鏡的本領之一。便於獲得信息。這就是優勢。
這個系列的競爭車型中,有的會因為引擎運轉震動厲害而使得映像模糊,但Honda車型的倒後鏡為何就不會出現這種情況呢?這就是跟競爭車型的區別,而這個從外觀上是看不出來的。

以前,曾經詢問過研發技術人員,他們告訴我“Honda對倒後鏡的視野有著非常嚴格的要求,我認為比其他競爭車型高了好幾個檔次”。但是,商品目錄裡面卻絲毫沒有提及。當然,網頁中也沒有。在Moto GP展會中,其實只要駕駛裝配Honda倒後鏡的電單車一圈,便一目了然了,因此我覺得沒有大聲吆喝“我的倒後鏡很好哦!”的必要吧。

解決了難題的運動型電單車倒後鏡

很多用戶追求超級運動型電單車撕裂空氣、跑車般的速度感,因此希望倒後鏡能夠盡可能小並且不顯眼。事實上,我曾經見過有些電單車的倒後鏡儘管外觀時尚,但是手必須要離開手把或者做很大程度的曲肘才能夠看到後方視野。這樣的電單車即使將手肘移開,後方視野還是很窄,因此並不能放心駕駛。

Mirrors

在彎道上忽左忽後的行駛時,我很享受采取前傾式與電單車人車合一的感覺。當沉浸在那種感覺中,卻因為突然注意到後方有情況而不得不向後看,或者為了在倒後鏡中看到駕駛的英姿而不得不斜著身體,這些事情都讓人非常掃興。既然道路不是我一個人在行駛,在任何時候我都必須注意後方的情形。因此,我認為能夠在這時瞬間獲取後方信息非常重要。當然,雖說便於觀察很重要,但是我有點想換掉總是進入視野的礙事的倒後鏡支架。

從這點來說,忽左忽右在彎路上行駛時CBR600RR的倒後鏡可以說相當實用。通過倒後鏡,不但可以瞬間回看剛剛通過的道路,倒後鏡支架也設計得酷炫有型。且調整範圍大,能夠幫我找到觀察剛剛駛過路面的最佳角度。

重要的是,我家距離彎道很遠,在行駛到彎道之前,我的車能夠行駛得如同旅行電單車一般,而到了山麓的大街上,又能像綿羊車一樣穿梭於人車混行的街道。優良的實用性是很重要的。
超級運動型電單車有時會成為標杆車型。環形賽道上的速度、整體包裝下所見到的最高奔跑時速等等都有明確的標準。但是,跟其他競爭車型一比,我認為CBR的倒後鏡明顯成為了業界競相模仿的對象。騎乘上競爭車型,瞬間覺得競爭車型的視野跟CBR的“好像啊”。

結論

就這樣,再次感受了Honda倒後鏡開發製作的嚴​​格與精良。位置、便於調節、後方視野寬闊、易於獲得信息,無一不體現這點。購買前在商品目錄中總會比較操控性、引擎的動力特性、配件質感、整體包裝等信息,但是真正購買後,倒後鏡才是每次駕駛時必用之裝備。在購買電單車時,估計很少有人因為看中倒後鏡的“視野開闊”才購買的吧。

過去,我也不會因為倒後鏡的好壞而決定是否購買電單車。但是現在,我的經驗告訴我後方視野的好壞很大程度上影響駕駛的樂趣。 “便於觀察”的倒後鏡絕對會帶來更優異的駕騎感受。倒後鏡的“視野開闊”非常重要。我認為有著駕駛經驗的人再去驗證這個觀點,也一定會贊成的。

Mirrors

在這點上,我因為倒後鏡的優良而推薦Honda電單車。我希望大家就Honda電單車倒後鏡性能卓越這個角度重新認識Honda電單車的優越性。

方法很簡單。首先到門店試駕一次。我們可以從那裡開始關於Honda所擁有的優異性能的對話。

了解下一項本田技術: 引擎防盜系統 - H.I.S.S

H.I.S.S.

如何避免愛車被盜呢?對於車手來說最厭惡的事情莫過於"失竊"了。現在也經常聽聞世界上"電單車盜竊團伙猖獗" 的新聞,愛車被盜實在是一件讓人難以接受的事情。

更多