Rear Seats on PCX

First, I climbed on the PCX's rear seat. This was my first experience getting on behind a woman rider who was already astride a bike or, in this case, scooter. The PCX's low seat and easy reach to the ground left Risa, who stands 168cm tall, with nothing lacking in the way of confidence sitting on and holding up the . However, when I, at 180cm tall and weighing 85kg, swung my leg over the rear seat, which sits a bit higher than the rider's seat, I first worried that my extra weight might topple over the scooter. However, Risa said that she wasn't particularly bothered when I got on. My immediate impression was that the PCX not only offers an easy reach to the ground, but also excellent balance in that situation, indicating that the engineers designed it for a solid foot plant, which would be an important factor for commuters, as well as added peace-of-mind when a rider sits on the seat and places his or her feet on the ground. If the bike were to lurch here, then the rider might get overly nervous, even on the move.

Honda Rear Seats on PCX

We started our ride on a busy street. Soon after turning at the first intersection, we stopped at a red light. I asked Risa if she was okay, and she replied, "This is easier than I thought it would be, with fewer distractions."

That sounded good, so I concentrated on evaluating the ride on the rear seat.

The instant I sat down, I discovered the seat's surface area and fit to be good. The fold-out passenger steps are shaped to integrate nicely with the scooter's stylish good looks, and flip out easily for passenger use. The steps are positioned for a comfortable seating position, and contribute greatly to the PCX's overall sense of stability. However, while waiting for the light to change, I found I had to take care not to let the toes of my boots bump into the rider's (Risa's) lower leg. When on the move, there was no contact at all.

Under acceleration, I felt that the seat offered an appropriate mix of firmness and shock absorption to securely support my weight. Further, the space at the front and rear seemed well separated to keep me from interfering with Risa's riding. There was also ample seating area forward and back to allow me to move my bottom around and not get locked into one, eventually uncomfortable position.

The stylish, boomerang-shaped tail section surrounding the back of the seat also doubles as the grab rail, and its attractive form lends a sporty touch to the PCX's overall body design. Also impressive is the detailed consideration given to the design of often overlooked parts, including the ergonomic shaping of this tail section to give it a comfortable hand hold that's easy to wrap one's fingers around at virtually any position without any limitations. That played a big part in reducing fatigue by allowing me to sit in a relaxed posture, particularly when combined with the spacious rear seating area, which offered ample room front and rear to shift my weight during acceleration and braking.

Honda Rear Seats

When we came to a bumpy stone-paved road, I found the PCX offered a much more comfortable ride than I first expected, including both its suspension and engine response. Being able to comfortably ride tandem through town is an important feature in a commuter. The ride was remarkably smooth, without feeling any unpleasant engine vibration or rough bumps in the road through my bottom. In fact, it was so smooth that I felt I could relax and ride forever in these conditions. The view from the rear seat wasn't bad, either. I was again reminded that the rear seat's comfort depends on a combination of good positioning, sufficient seating space, etc., which all come together to determine a bike's overall strengths.

Risa noted, "I was surprised to find that the PCX was quite a bit easier to ride than I first thought it would be." As you know, she was riding a mid-sized scooter with a big 85kg man sitting behind her. She continued, "My riding position while carrying a passenger was remarkably relaxed. Since the PCX is only a 150cc-class scooter, I prepared myself to feel cramped with a passenger behind me, but its surprising spaciousness made it easy to maneuver. I also expected that riding double on this class of scooter would be slow and difficult, but the engine had enough power available that I felt that even two-up touring on it might be possible. Creating a positive mood is one of the most important factors of bike performance.

I've ridden pillion on other makes of scooter in the same class before. One time, it was a two-up ride with two sizeable men on the bike, and when I climbed onto the rear seat, the front of the scooter became noticeably lighter and appeared to be somewhat unstable. Because of this, I still remember straining my hands to hold onto the skinny grab bar, and gripped it so hard that it hurt my fingers.

And although the size of the seat itself was not especially small, it seemed to transmit engine vibration and rear suspension movement more directly to the rear saddle than to the rider's seat. If issues like this are not made clear, it makes me feel uneasy. Honestly, I didn't feel like riding double again after that experience. Even 125cc-class models have such large differences between people wanting to ride them and not wanting them at all. Is this only due to differences in cost? No, differences in manufacturer's consideration play a big part, a factor which became instantly clear this day.

See Next: Rear Seats on CB250

Rear Seats - CB250

This bike is the naked version of the CBR250R, and its wedge-like shape reveals impressive sports bike-like styling. Its rear seat is also slightly taller than the rider's seat.

Next

PCX的後座

首先,我爬上PCX的後座。這是我第一次在一個女駕駛者後面,她已經跨騎著電單車,這種情況下,或者是綿羊車。PCX是低座椅且Risa輕鬆夠到地面,她站起來身高168cm,信心滿滿地坐著和支撐把手。但是,當我,180cm高和85kg重,跨過後座搖晃著腿,後座比駕駛者座位高一點,我第一次擔心我的額外體重會使綿羊車翻車。但是,Risa說當我坐上去時,她不是特別擔心。我的第一印象是,PCX不僅輕鬆夠到地面,而且在這種情況下提供極佳的平衡,這表明工程師設計了堅實的踏板,這對通勤者來說將是一個重要因素,當駕駛者坐在座椅上並把他/她的腳放在地面上時,還有額外的平和心態。如果電單車將要在這裡傾斜,即使在行車過程中,駕駛者可能會過度緊張。

Honda Rear Seats on PCX

我們在一條繁華的街道上開始我們的駕駛。在第一個路口轉彎後不久,我們在紅燈前停下。我問Risa是否還好,她回答說:“這比我想像的還要容易,干擾更少。”

這聽起來不錯,所以我在後座集中精力來評估駕駛。

我一坐下,就發現座位的面積和配合度都很好。該折疊式乘客腳蹬塑造成與綿羊車的美觀時尚外型完美集成,並且容易翻出以供乘客使用。這些腳踏定位為一個舒適的就座位置,並大大影響PCX的整體穩定性。然而,在等交通燈變綠的時候,我發現必須注意不能讓我靴子的腳趾部分撞到了騎車人(Risa)的小腿。當行車過程中,完全沒有接觸。

加速時,我感到座椅所提供穩固性和減震的適當配合,以安全地支持我的體重。此外,在前方和後方的空間相互間很好地分離,使我不干擾Risa的駕駛。也有充足的前進和後退休息區,允許我挪動臀部,不至於鎖定為一體,最終到不舒服的位置。

圍繞座椅靠背的時尚、迴旋鏢形的尾部還兼作扶手,其美麗的外形給PCX的整體車身設計增添了運動觸感。對常常被忽視部分的設計也進行詳細的考慮,這也令人印象深刻,包括機尾部分的人體工程學塑形,給它一個舒適的手握感,這很容易就包裹駕駛者的手指幾乎在任何位置而無限制。這允許我以輕鬆的姿勢坐好,那對減輕疲勞發揮重要的作用,特別與寬敞的後座區組合時,在加速和煞車過程中,前後提供足夠的空間來轉移我的體重。

Honda Rear Seats

當我們來到一條崎嶇不平的石板路,我發現PCX提供比我預期更舒適的乘坐感受,包括它的避震和引擎回應。能夠雙人舒適地駕駛穿過城鎮是通勤者所要求的重要功能。駕駛出奇地順利,從我的臀部下面沒有感受到任何路面上不愉快的引擎振動或粗暴的顛簸。事實上,它是如此順利,以至於我覺得在這種條件下,我可以永遠放鬆和駕駛。後座的視野也不錯。我被再次提醒,後座的舒適性取決於良好定位、足夠的乘坐空間等組合,而所有這一切確定電單車的整體優勢。

Risa說,“我驚奇地發現PCX比我剛開始設想的要更容易駕駛。”正如你所知,她騎著中型綿羊車,身後坐著85kg的男人。她繼續說:“雖然載著一個乘客,我的駕駛姿勢出奇地輕鬆。”由於PCX只是150cc級別的綿羊車,我預想後面帶著一個乘客會讓自己感到局促,但它令人驚訝的寬敞使得它容易操縱。我還預計,雙人駕駛這類綿羊車將是緩慢而艱難的,但是引擎有足夠的可用功率,以至於我覺得,即使兩人騎著旅行都是有可能。創造積極的氣氛是電單車性能的最重要因素之一。

我之前坐在同一級別綿羊車的後座。有一次,這是一輛2人站立的雙座電單車,而當我爬上後座,電單車的前部變得明顯更輕,似乎有些不穩定。正因為如此,我仍然記得雙手使勁抓住細長的抓杆,並太用力抓住以至於傷了我的手指。

雖然座椅本身的尺寸沒有特別小,與駕駛者的座位相比,它似乎更直接傳遞引擎振動和後避震運動到後部車座。如果這樣的問題沒有搞清楚,這讓我感到不安。老實說,在那次經歷之後,我不再想要雙人駕駛。即使125cc級別車型在想駕駛的人和根本不想駕駛的人之間有如此巨大的差異。這僅僅是由於成本的差異嗎?不,廠商考慮的差異性扮演了重要角色,這成為當天瞬間清晰一個因素。

繼續閱讀: CB250的後座

CB250的後座

這款電單車是CBR250R的街車版,它的楔形外形顯示它令人印象深刻的運動電單車般的造型。它的後座也是比駕駛者的座位要高一點。

更多